My Favourite Children’s Books

My favourite children’s books are still, to this day, some of the best books I have ever read. These are the books that I fell in love with whilst I read them as a child, and that have characters and stories that have stuck with me to this day. I have re-read all of these books at least once – and every time I do I am filled with the warm, nostalgic feeling that only the books you first read as a child can give you. I would recommend these books to any child, whether they already love to read or need encouragement to, and also anyone of any age who wants an easy and light-hearted, yet completely satisfying, read.

A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

This is a hilarious, cliff-hanging adventure series following the fate of the three Baudelaire children, who when their parents die in a fire, are sent to live with a distant relative, the evil Count Olaf. We follow the childrens’ perilous adventures as Count Olaf tries to steal their fortune; while the plot is dark, it is also extremely humorous and exciting. This is one of the most unique and wonderful series I have ever read.

The Harry Potter Series by J K Rowling

While I’m sure everyone has either already read this series or is sick of everyone telling them to, I really could not recommend this series more highly. The magical world in which this series is set is so rich and well-crafted, and the plot is perfectly driven and just detailed enough. The characters, however, are the best aspects of this series for me; they are so well-rounded and believable, and you love them and feel so invested in their stories as you read. This is a truly remarkable and impactful series, which I see myself re-reading and thoroughly enjoying for years to come.

Matilda by Roald Dahl

Really, you can’t go wrong with any of Roald Dahl’s books and I truly recommend all of them – they are fantastic. Matilda is one of my personal favourites, however, and the one I would recommend anyone to try first. Roald Dahl is an extraordinarily funny writer, and whilst his stories are quirky and playful, he manages to expertly weave in important moral lessons and adult themes. His books are joyous, and I always find myself grinning whenever I read them.

The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge

This is a children’s fantasy story following a young orphan girl, Maria Merryweather, who goes to live at Moonacre Manor, which has a mysterious and magical past. What makes this book brilliant is the writing; the world in which the book is set is beautiful and intricate, and the descriptions of nature and colour and food are so vibrant and wonderful. This is a fast but wonderfully gorgeous read.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

This is a more classic story set in the early 1860s, that follows the lives of the four young March sisters, Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy. This book is extremely uplifting; we see the girls grow and make mistakes and learn from them, and all the while we are rooting for them to succeed. Ultimately this is a timeless coming of age story, with lovable characters and important moral lessons; it is an extremely sentimental book to me.

Leave a Reply

