Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur ★★★★★

IMG_74631Milk and Honey is a beautiful poetry collection describing the experiences of the author when she was a teenager and in her early twenties. It is split into four sections – the hurting, the loving, the breaking, the healing – and is an excellent exploration of what it is to grow up as a woman today, presenting not only very personal issues, but also general, further-reaching feminist issues. The topics explored are handled with poise and elegance, but are also expressed in a brilliantly accessible way. I truly believe that everyone should try reading this poetry collection, whether you are a fan of poetry or not, whether you are a woman or not; I think everyone would gain something from this collection.

I loved the focus of this poetry collection, and felt it explored many different aspects of womanhood in subtle ways. Among others were themes of heartbreak, familial relations, love and lust, body issues, self-love and societal expectations placed on women of all ages. The poems felt extremely raw and real to me; I related to the majority of them, and while I had not experienced some of the things mentioned in some of the poems and so could not relate to them, Rupi Kaur made it extremely easy for me to empathise with her. The discussion of these incredibly important and prevalent topics was truthful and heartfelt, and it was a hard-hitting and emotional read.

‘i know i                                 
should crumble                     
for better reasons   
but have you seen
that boy                           
he brings                               
the sun to                                 
its knees                                  
every night’

The poems that comprise the collection are short but precise; I felt they portrayed the topics and the feelings of the author perfectly, with no wasted words. The style of the poems made this collection an incredibly fast read; I read it one sitting. How Rupi Kaur managed to do make it so quick but at the same time impactful, was wonderful. Another virtue of the length of the poems, and the collection as a whole, was that is was not at all intimidating. If you have not read much poetry before, I believe this would be a great place to start. In fact, two of my house mates and my boyfriend who do not often read poetry have already read this collection on my recommendation, and they all loved it!

‘how you love yourself is        
how you teach others
to love you’

‘my heart aches for sisters more than anything
it aches for women helping women
like flowers ache for spring’

Milk and Honey is tender and honest in exploring what it is to be a woman during early adulthood, and I think everyone would relate to and learn from this collection. I truly loved the experience of reading this collection. Kaur’s writing is open and perfectly expressed, and I am eager to read more from her in the future.

8 thoughts on “Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur ★★★★★

  1. Ella May Garrett says:

    I really want to get a copy of this! I didn’t know it was split in to 4 sections, that’s so interesting. I have seen loads of snippets of the poems on Pinterest and they all really get to me x

    Like

Leave a Reply

