The Princess Saves Herself In This One by Amanda Lovelace ★★★★½

IMG_88481The Princess Saves Herself In This One is a poetry collection divided into four parts: The Princess, The Damsel, The Queen and You. The first three sections trace Amanda Lovelace’s life, while the final section is addressed to the reader. I picked this collection up after being recommended it due to my thorough enjoyment of Rupi Kaur’s Milk and Honey – you can read my full review of that collection here – and I was not disappointed. This is a beautiful, touching collection that explores love, familial relationships, grief, healing and female empowerment, and it is written in such a simple yet highly affecting way that I would recommend anyone to try it out.

I thought the structure of this collection was perfect. The poetry in this collection is succinct yet never feels too short; Amanda Lovelace manages to get her messages across perfectly and affectingly. I also loved the way this collection revolved around traditional fairy-tale tropes. Fictional stories, and fairy-tales in particular, often play such a huge role in girl’s childhoods, and seeing the way that she weaved this into the collection was fascinating. Lovelace embraced the stories that we all know and love, and while she recognised the importance and the positive effects they can have on young girl’s lives, she also challenged many of the dangerous messages they espouse: primarily the notion that princess’ need to be saved by a prince. I found this collection to be entirely engrossing and quite inspirational.

‘ah, life—
the thing 
that happens 
to us 
while we’re off 
somewhere else 
blowing on 
dandelions
& wishing 
ourselves into 
the pages of 
our favorite 
fairy tales.’

I loved the themes that this collection explored. There were many personal insights into the author’s life, including the harmful relationship with her mother (the ‘Queen’), family losses such as her sister, and ways in which she struggled with food during her teenage years. As well as this, however, there were certainly more general issues explored that I am sure many young women will identify with, such as body image pressures and the importance of being your own best friend, and I believe it is extremely important that issues such as these are discussed both in literature and generally. I really enjoyed the process of learning about the author and her experiences, before she took the lessons she learned to address the reader in the final section. The entire collection felt extremely authentic, and while I couldn’t identify with all the poems and certainly loved some more than others, I think overall it was brilliant.

‘once upon
a time,
the princess
rose from the ashes
her dragon lovers
made of her
&
crowned
herself
the
motherfucking
queen of
herself.’

I really loved this poetry collection; it was not intimidating at all and was accessibly written, and was ultimately fun and engaging to read. What’s more, I felt extremely close to the themes this collection explored as I am sure many other people would also, and it genuinely inspired me to think more about the topics at hand and have faith in myself as a young woman – everyone can become their own Queen! I would highly recommend people to try this collection.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

